Fix: sessiond: bounded snapshot record fails when no streams exist
authorJérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Mon, 3 Feb 2020 22:25:58 +0000 (17:25 -0500)
committerJérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Mon, 3 Feb 2020 22:29:38 +0000 (17:29 -0500)
Attempting to record a snapshot with a `--max-size` fails when no
streams exist. For instance, attempting to record a snapshot for a
user space session when no applications are running will fail with the
following output:

Error: Invalid snapshot size. Cannot fit at least one packet per stream.
Error: Snapshot max size is invalid

The function get_session_nb_packets_per_stream() computes an
approximation of the number of packets to capture to honor the maximal
size specified. However, at the end, it doesn't distinguish between
'0' meaning that "no packets can be captured" (no streams exist) and
'0' meaning that "the max size is too small to accomodate one packet".

Those two cases can be distinguished by checking if the 'size_left' is
still the 'max_size', meaning that not even the size of one packet was
substracted from 'max_size'.

Reported-by: Simon Marchi <simark@efficios.com>
Signed-off-by: Jérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Change-Id: I5caef9ce926bbc7143a90667749ffaed972590c1

src/bin/lttng-sessiond/cmd.c

index 68b6aa2536d7d8bf6bc9350e0b0763f7b458da36..139133210406882cf8e3359287a892bb228c9c5b 100644 (file)
@@ -4574,7 +4574,7 @@ int64_t get_session_nb_packets_per_stream(const struct ltt_session *session,
                }
                cur_nb_packets++;
        }
-       if (!cur_nb_packets) {
+       if (!cur_nb_packets && size_left != max_size) {
                /* Not enough room to grab one packet of each stream, error. */
                return -1;
        }
This page took 0.036395 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.