Tests: live/test_{lttng_,}kernel: use lttng_test_filter_event instead of sched_switch
authorFrancis Deslauriers <francis.deslauriers@efficios.com>
Thu, 9 Jul 2020 20:44:32 +0000 (16:44 -0400)
committerJérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Tue, 21 Jul 2020 20:05:32 +0000 (16:05 -0400)
commitbd37c3c55c9973450dbf2651fbe20d4d1ed5befa
tree5ae3ec5d006e7aab47c5a42cd6b9583f3bd98c24
parentec0c0977df0e23ef10d673c7ed79c8544e9187b8
Tests: live/test_{lttng_,}kernel: use lttng_test_filter_event instead of sched_switch

Background
==========
These tests currently rely on system load (the `sched_switch` event) to
generate trace data.

Issue
=====
This is can be problematic for the `test_kernel`
test case because it has a fixed sized buffer to store the trace:
  #define mmap_size 524288

This caused this test failure to randomly happen on my machine:
  ok 7 - Get one index per stream
  # mmap_size not big enough
  not ok 8 - Get one data packet for stream 0, offset 0, len 4096
  #     Failed test (live_test.c:main() at line 709)
  [error] Error detaching viewer session
  not ok 9 - Detach viewer session
  #     Failed test (live_test.c:main() at line 715)

Solution
========
Using the `lttng_test_filter_event` event to control the size and
number of the event expected in the trace rather then depending on how
many Electon apps are currently fighting for my CPUs.

Signed-off-by: Francis Deslauriers <francis.deslauriers@efficios.com>
Signed-off-by: Jérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Change-Id: I15d500d5becf9c5e526ae11ff0b2a2f4f6b753ac
tests/regression/tools/live/test_kernel
tests/regression/tools/live/test_lttng_kernel
This page took 0.033639 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.