Fix: Libtool fails to find dependent libraries when cross-compiling lttng-tools
authorChristian Babeux <christian.babeux@efficios.com>
Fri, 3 Aug 2012 20:31:27 +0000 (16:31 -0400)
committerDavid Goulet <dgoulet@efficios.com>
Fri, 10 Aug 2012 22:40:16 +0000 (18:40 -0400)
commit6bd5984c2b1b1037e0345bbac3506b5503fe01bd
treeaceeb70c9179a06304dd607c760a07b771c0863c
parent051accd44b5b7f3f217c64fbbad7972d29417f4f
Fix: Libtool fails to find dependent libraries when cross-compiling lttng-tools

This problem arise when cross compiling and linking libraries with
indirect libraries dependencies (such as liblttng-ust). This "bug" is
caused by an upstream modification in the libtool package on Debian
system. The libtool "link_all_deplibs" flag is set to "no" by default
on linux targets (AFAIK, other distros set it to "unknown").

The chosen solution is to detect such cases via the configure script
and automagically patch the libtool.m4 by forcing the "link_all_deplibs"
to "unknown".

This fixup can be disabled with the appropriate configure flag:

./configure --disable-libtool-linkdep-fixup

Sample configure output on affected systems:

checking for occurence(s) of link_all_deplibs = no in
 ./config/libtool.m4... 3
configure: WARNING: the detected libtool will not link all
     dependencies, forcing link_all_deplibs = unknown

Acked-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Signed-off-by: Christian Babeux <christian.babeux@efficios.com>
Signed-off-by: David Goulet <dgoulet@efficios.com>
configure.ac
This page took 0.033726 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.