Don't force a target and optimization level on ARMv7
authorMichael Jeanson <mjeanson@efficios.com>
Fri, 11 Dec 2020 18:52:10 +0000 (13:52 -0500)
committerMathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Thu, 17 Dec 2020 13:28:23 +0000 (08:28 -0500)
We shouldn't force a specific target cpu for the compiler on ARMv7 but
let the system or the user choose it. If some of our code depends on a
specific target CPU features, it should be compile tested.

Also remove the default optimisation level of O1, it's potentially a
workaround to an early armv7 compiler performance problem and anyway
most builds will have an optimisation level flag set in the CFLAGS which
will override this one.

Signed-off-by: Michael Jeanson <mjeanson@efficios.com>
Acked-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@kernel.org>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Change-Id: I1d1bb5cc0fa0be8f8b1d6a9ad7bf063809be1aef

configure.ac

index daa967a738a057a61dc69b5e93c9c047c4b71524..f47742545d9240f3a6555f711fa862550366bb5b 100644 (file)
@@ -119,10 +119,6 @@ AS_CASE([$host],[*-cygwin*],
        [AM_CONDITIONAL(USE_CYGWIN, false)]
 )
 
-AS_IF([test "$host_cpu" = "armv7l"],[
-       AM_CFLAGS="$AM_CFLAGS -mcpu=cortex-a9 -mtune=cortex-a9 -O1"
-])
-
 # Search for clock_gettime
 AC_SEARCH_LIBS([clock_gettime], [rt], [
        AC_DEFINE([CONFIG_RCU_HAVE_CLOCK_GETTIME], [1])
This page took 0.034467 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.