Deprecate enable/disable-consumer
authorDavid Goulet <dgoulet@efficios.com>
Fri, 15 Feb 2013 22:09:09 +0000 (17:09 -0500)
committerDavid Goulet <dgoulet@efficios.com>
Mon, 18 Feb 2013 18:48:48 +0000 (13:48 -0500)
commit785d2d0dc3aec3a4e44fcf677155dd07e8e4cc1f
tree27e2671d5701ad3aceb7e460c8edaf5de9d33631
parentffe600149a7608221985751e1bf293234bf2545c
Deprecate enable/disable-consumer

The concept of consumer should change to the fact that a user can
enable/disable outputs such as file or network for streaming. We
envision that multiple outputs can be attached to a channel in the
future.

We want to minimise the amount of puzzlement for users. Having an error
message from the consumer daemon when --no-consumer has been specified
can be considered puzzling.

This calls for "add output" semantic, so we can support this "tee"
use-case seemlessly. We plan on allowing add/del output while tracing is
active, which is not currently permitted by enable-consumer.

Everything enable-consumer does can be done by lttng create options
Therefore, it seems easier for development of upcoming features and for
the sake of simplicity of interfaces to deprecate the current
enable/disable consumer.

This applies for both to the lttng UI commands and API calls. The
documentation has been removed from the man page and the help of the
lttng command. So, it exists but is simply not documented.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <dgoulet@efficios.com>
16 files changed:
doc/man/lttng.1
include/lttng/lttng-error.h
include/lttng/lttng.h
src/bin/lttng-sessiond/cmd.c
src/bin/lttng-sessiond/cmd.h
src/bin/lttng-sessiond/main.c
src/bin/lttng-sessiond/session.c
src/bin/lttng-sessiond/session.h
src/bin/lttng/commands/create.c
src/bin/lttng/commands/disable_consumer.c
src/bin/lttng/commands/enable_consumer.c
src/bin/lttng/lttng.c
src/common/error.c
src/lib/lttng-ctl/lttng-ctl.c
tests/tools/streaming/run-kernel
tests/tools/streaming/run-ust
This page took 0.03657 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.