lttng-tools.git
11 years agoEmpty import of libkernelctl
David Goulet [Tue, 3 May 2011 19:54:23 +0000 (15:54 -0400)] 
Empty import of libkernelctl

Add directory structure and modify tree structure in
order to compile this internal library.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoAdd missing stdio header for fprintf
David Goulet [Tue, 3 May 2011 17:23:26 +0000 (13:23 -0400)] 
Add missing stdio header for fprintf

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoAdd -p, --pid option to lttng command line
David Goulet [Mon, 2 May 2011 20:42:35 +0000 (16:42 -0400)] 
Add -p, --pid option to lttng command line

This makes create, start and stop trace available for both kernel and
userspace tracing. For userspace tracing, use the -p, --pid option to
enable those action for an application identified by a pid.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoAdd ust stop trace feature
David Goulet [Mon, 2 May 2011 20:10:36 +0000 (16:10 -0400)] 
Add ust stop trace feature

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoChange get cmdline function and list print
David Goulet [Mon, 2 May 2011 19:49:56 +0000 (15:49 -0400)] 
Change get cmdline function and list print

Make the function return a pointer to the proc cmdline allocated string.
List traces and applications are modified to use it.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoAdd trace listing feature
David Goulet [Mon, 2 May 2011 19:34:25 +0000 (15:34 -0400)] 
Add trace listing feature

This patch adds the possibility to list the available traces for a
specific session.

The new lttng_trace data structure is a representation of a trace for
use for 'human output'.

Some fct are added to trace.c to get the trace count of a session and
list those traces. Also, trace counter are added to a ltt_session.

Some renaming is done to make things clearer. A name is added to a
userspace trace also.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoAdd debug statements to session daemon
David Goulet [Mon, 2 May 2011 18:24:09 +0000 (14:24 -0400)] 
Add debug statements to session daemon

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoAdd verbose option to session daemon
David Goulet [Mon, 2 May 2011 18:08:03 +0000 (14:08 -0400)] 
Add verbose option to session daemon

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoAdd ust start trace feature
David Goulet [Mon, 2 May 2011 18:04:39 +0000 (14:04 -0400)] 
Add ust start trace feature

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoAdd trace C file called trace.c
David Goulet [Mon, 2 May 2011 17:41:21 +0000 (13:41 -0400)] 
Add trace C file called trace.c

This file contains every useful fct to manage and deal
with lttng-tools' trace data structures.

Add missing headers to session.h to resolve the compiling
issues with trace.c.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoAdd create trace option validation
David Goulet [Mon, 2 May 2011 15:23:29 +0000 (11:23 -0400)] 
Add create trace option validation

Can't create a trace without a session ID for now.

Future works will create a session automatically.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoAdd the get command line path from PID fct
David Goulet [Mon, 2 May 2011 15:03:05 +0000 (11:03 -0400)] 
Add the get command line path from PID fct

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoMove lttng trace data structure to trace.h
David Goulet [Fri, 29 Apr 2011 18:54:13 +0000 (14:54 -0400)] 
Move lttng trace data structure to trace.h

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoMinor code ordering and comments
David Goulet [Fri, 29 Apr 2011 17:15:17 +0000 (13:15 -0400)] 
Minor code ordering and comments

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoMove traceable app. data to a seperate C file
David Goulet [Fri, 29 Apr 2011 17:00:39 +0000 (13:00 -0400)] 
Move traceable app. data to a seperate C file

All traceable application data structure and functions
are now in traceable-app.c/.h.

To remove traceable app data struct dependency from main.c,
register_traceable_app, unregister_traceable_app and get_app_count
is added. Also, main.c is now using these function.

Also, the find_app_by_pid returns the struct pointer.

Minor spaces fix in the code for session.c/.h and main.c

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoMove session data and functions to session.c/.h
David Goulet [Fri, 29 Apr 2011 16:04:02 +0000 (12:04 -0400)] 
Move session data and functions to session.c/.h

Moving all session data to a specific C file. Basic changes to the code
was necessary to make functions and variables non-static. Adds a
get_session_count to protect direct changes to the session counter.

Also, rename ltt-sessiond.c to main.c.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoFix the lttng popt context param
David Goulet [Fri, 29 Apr 2011 17:04:42 +0000 (13:04 -0400)] 
Fix the lttng popt context param

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoChange __lttng_print to a define macro
David Goulet [Fri, 29 Apr 2011 15:55:21 +0000 (11:55 -0400)] 
Change __lttng_print to a define macro

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoMake code simpler for send buffer header size
David Goulet [Thu, 28 Apr 2011 18:49:10 +0000 (14:49 -0400)] 
Make code simpler for send buffer header size

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoDeny multiple session with the same name
David Goulet [Thu, 28 Apr 2011 18:27:46 +0000 (14:27 -0400)] 
Deny multiple session with the same name

This commit fixes the possibility of creating two or more
sessions with the same name.

Also fixes a small bug in the sessiond test.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoAdd a basic structure for tests and sessiond tests
David Goulet [Thu, 28 Apr 2011 17:07:23 +0000 (13:07 -0400)] 
Add a basic structure for tests and sessiond tests

Basic stuff for ltt-sessiond testing. Also, the runall.sh
should be used for all tests.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoFix cleanup bug
David Goulet [Thu, 28 Apr 2011 14:49:40 +0000 (10:49 -0400)] 
Fix cleanup bug

If the daemon was already running, a cleanup occured making
the two unix sockets being unlinked.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoFix minor bug and usage formating
David Goulet [Thu, 28 Apr 2011 14:32:09 +0000 (10:32 -0400)] 
Fix minor bug and usage formating

Client socket path was set to 's' and not 'c'.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoAdd mutex protection for the traceable apps
David Goulet [Wed, 27 Apr 2011 19:31:56 +0000 (15:31 -0400)] 
Add mutex protection for the traceable apps

The two threads are using this list so now protected
by a pthread_mutex_t using add and del function.

Also introduce add and del function to manage
the session list.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoFix create trace using the current session
David Goulet [Wed, 27 Apr 2011 18:53:49 +0000 (14:53 -0400)] 
Fix create trace using the current session

Better create trace internal function for the session daemon.

Add a check for command that needs a session.
Add lttcomm error message for missing session.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoAdd ust create trace feature
David Goulet [Wed, 27 Apr 2011 17:25:48 +0000 (13:25 -0400)] 
Add ust create trace feature

Can now create a trace with name set to 'auto' using
the PID of the application.

Also, this patch adds a missing param to the long_options, add
some information for help and sort the option's array.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoChange list command line options -l and -L
David Goulet [Wed, 27 Apr 2011 15:40:13 +0000 (11:40 -0400)] 
Change list command line options -l and -L

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoAdd close unix socket function to libcomm API
David Goulet [Wed, 27 Apr 2011 15:34:10 +0000 (11:34 -0400)] 
Add close unix socket function to libcomm API

Using clean_exit everywhere in lttng now and adding
the session daemon disconnect to that clean exit function.

Also fix the recv <= 0 for process client msg on the
session daemon side in order to not send back empty data.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoAdd --session feature
David Goulet [Wed, 27 Apr 2011 15:18:25 +0000 (11:18 -0400)] 
Add --session feature

This allows any user to select a session and any
tracing command will affect that particular session.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoAdd destroy session feature
David Goulet [Tue, 26 Apr 2011 20:36:38 +0000 (16:36 -0400)] 
Add destroy session feature

The destroy command is added. Some fixes were needed
for destroy_session function in ltt-sessiond and basic
handling of uuid.

Now, the whole chain of tools uses libuuid.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoClean some part of the code
David Goulet [Tue, 26 Apr 2011 19:11:25 +0000 (15:11 -0400)] 
Clean some part of the code

Add goto to send data in the process client command.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoAdd create session feature
David Goulet [Tue, 26 Apr 2011 19:02:17 +0000 (15:02 -0400)] 
Add create session feature

Add create session command to liblttngctl, lttng and
session daemon.

Fix a major bug with send data buffer having the wrong
pointer arithmetic and thus failing with memcpy.

Add -fno-strict-aliasing to the global CFLAGS.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoFix segfault for ltt-sessiond pathname
David Goulet [Fri, 22 Apr 2011 14:56:59 +0000 (10:56 -0400)] 
Fix segfault for ltt-sessiond pathname

The getenv sessiond path could return NULL so the strdup failed
at this point.

Also added the "not running" indication when listing pids that are not
found in /proc.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoMajor changes for the daemon data transmission
David Goulet [Thu, 21 Apr 2011 21:29:32 +0000 (17:29 -0400)] 
Major changes for the daemon data transmission

This commit reengineer the data transmission from the session daemon to
the liblttngctl. Instead of sending a packet on a per data structure
basis, this scheme uses lttcomm_lttng_msg structure has a header control
structure adding the payload_size to it. The payload data is then
appended after and only one send() is used.

This will permit AF_INET socket scaling for future development.

List sessions and list apps command has been modified to fit this
change.

In the meantime, some unuse code is removed and minor cleanup.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoAdd lttngerr support to ltt-sessiond
David Goulet [Thu, 21 Apr 2011 19:02:15 +0000 (15:02 -0400)] 
Add lttngerr support to ltt-sessiond

Now using the lttngerr API for message/error printing.

Also add the quiet option to the ltt-sessiond. The lttng auto spawn
session daemon option was also modified to use that quiet option to not
to pollute stdout when that spawned daemon is killed.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoAdd listing session option
David Goulet [Thu, 21 Apr 2011 18:50:18 +0000 (14:50 -0400)] 
Add listing session option

The lttng client can now list available sessions using the liblttngctl
API and session daemon support.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoReplace daemonize function by std glibc daemon()
David Goulet [Thu, 21 Apr 2011 16:31:00 +0000 (12:31 -0400)] 
Replace daemonize function by std glibc daemon()

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoAdd support for session daemon auto spawn
David Goulet [Tue, 19 Apr 2011 16:41:02 +0000 (12:41 -0400)] 
Add support for session daemon auto spawn

The lttng tool now spawns a session daemon if no ltt-sessiond is
running. Two new options added to control this behavior.

Introduce --sessiond-path and --no-sessiond to lttng command line tool.

Add --sig-parent to ltt-sessiond that sends a SIGCHLD to the parent pid
when the daemon is ready to process client command.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoMinor fix for ERR() call in lttng
David Goulet [Wed, 20 Apr 2011 19:56:29 +0000 (15:56 -0400)] 
Minor fix for ERR() call in lttng

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoChange client message processing
David Goulet [Wed, 20 Apr 2011 19:33:23 +0000 (15:33 -0400)] 
Change client message processing

ltt-sessiond can now send multiple response to the client for only one
command.

The list traceable apps command was modified accordingly to that
modification and now send one response per pid.

The liblttnctl was also changed to handle multiple reply and the
recvfrom_sessiond internal function is added removing the recv from the
ask_sessiond() function. Fine grained control helps.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
11 years agoMinor code cleanup
Mathieu Desnoyers [Wed, 13 Apr 2011 21:56:21 +0000 (17:56 -0400)] 
Minor code cleanup

Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
11 years agoCopyright notices cleanup
Mathieu Desnoyers [Wed, 13 Apr 2011 21:39:52 +0000 (17:39 -0400)] 
Copyright notices cleanup

Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
11 years agoInitial import
David Goulet [Wed, 13 Apr 2011 20:15:24 +0000 (16:15 -0400)] 
Initial import

This is the first import of the lttng-tools tree.

Signed-off-by: David Goulet <david.goulet@polymtl.ca>
This page took 0.030154 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.