Fix: Add vpid, vppid and vtid info in add-context help
authorFrancis Deslauriers <francis.deslauriers@efficios.com>
Thu, 19 Jun 2014 02:19:40 +0000 (22:19 -0400)
committerDavid Goulet <dgoulet@efficios.com>
Thu, 19 Jun 2014 18:46:11 +0000 (14:46 -0400)
Acked-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Signed-off-by: Francis Deslauriers <francis.deslauriers@efficios.com>
Signed-off-by: David Goulet <dgoulet@efficios.com>
src/bin/lttng/commands/add_context.c

index 405b7828f043dea695beff3bde4206cec59ee4ff..b1f81e6b3176d19a49957847727bed1afb723ac4 100644 (file)
@@ -514,6 +514,9 @@ static void usage(FILE *ofp)
        fprintf(ofp, "                           TYPE can be one of the strings below:\n");
        print_ctx_type(ofp);
        fprintf(ofp, "\n");
+       fprintf(ofp, "Note that the vpid, vppid and vtid context types represent the virtual process id,\n"
+                       "virtual parent process id and virtual thread id as seen from the current execution context\n"
+                       "as opposed to the pid, ppid and tid which are kernel internal data structures.\n\n");
        fprintf(ofp, "Example:\n");
        fprintf(ofp, "This command will add the context information 'prio' and two per-cpu\n"
                        "perf counters (hardware branch misses and cache misses), to all channels\n"
This page took 0.025396 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.