doc/man: add notes about shell escaping
authorPhilippe Proulx <eeppeliteloop@gmail.com>
Sat, 19 Mar 2016 01:35:07 +0000 (21:35 -0400)
committerJérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Sat, 19 Mar 2016 16:30:28 +0000 (12:30 -0400)
Signed-off-by: Philippe Proulx <eeppeliteloop@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Jérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
doc/man/lttng-add-context.1.txt
doc/man/lttng-enable-event.1.txt

index 26df16d2b37fb102587120dcfa6c2ec784b65b43..c201fa6a60e41c6a76eca0c9c5fbb9a16804abec 100644 (file)
@@ -59,6 +59,10 @@ with:
 'TYPE'::
     Context type name.
 
+NOTE: Make sure to **single-quote** the type when running the command
+from a shell, as `$` is a special character for variable substitution in
+most shells.
+
 Use the option:--list option without other arguments to list the
 available context field names.
 
index 4d88bdb1b6d37480287c796d1ba92c97942f7db6..f33507cec4685bd85f1151ae97597305ecf72827 100644 (file)
@@ -180,6 +180,10 @@ when creating a new event rule. If the filter expression evaluates
 to true when executed against the dynamic values of an event's fields
 when tracing, the filtering condition passes.
 
+NOTE: Make sure to **single-quote** the filter expression when running
+the command from a shell, as filter expressions typically include
+characters having a special meaning for most shells.
+
 The filter expression syntax is very similar to C language conditional
 expressions (expressions that can be evaluated by an `if` statement).
 
This page took 0.034297 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.