Fix: python: -Wshadow warning
authorFrancis Deslauriers <francis.deslauriers@efficios.com>
Wed, 14 Apr 2021 19:14:45 +0000 (15:14 -0400)
committerJérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Mon, 19 Apr 2021 15:14:59 +0000 (11:14 -0400)
Fixes warning when building Python Bindings with SWIG 3.0.12.

  lttng_wrap.c: In function ‘SWIG_Python_NewShadowInstance’:
  lttng_wrap.c:2483:65: warning: declaration of ‘swig_this’ shadows a global declaration [-Wshadow]
   SWIG_Python_NewShadowInstance(SwigPyClientData *data, PyObject *swig_this)
                                                                   ^~~~~~~~~
  lttng_wrap.c:2224:18: note: shadowed declaration is here
   static PyObject *swig_this = NULL;
                    ^~~~~~~~~
  lttng_wrap.c: In function ‘SWIG_Python_SetSwigThis’:
  lttng_wrap.c:2558:51: warning: declaration of ‘swig_this’ shadows a global declaration [-Wshadow]
   SWIG_Python_SetSwigThis(PyObject *inst, PyObject *swig_this)
                                                     ^~~~~~~~~
  lttng_wrap.c:2224:18: note: shadowed declaration is here
   static PyObject *swig_this = NULL;

Signed-off-by: Francis Deslauriers <francis.deslauriers@efficios.com>
Signed-off-by: Jérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Change-Id: Icde5f124e914a158eb190f95e3c012b7f800d7d1

extras/bindings/swig/python/Makefile.am

index bdecadcae2ef94967e95e44e068ce1ec0ec36f01..209f5bd61d4293a0c740b74ccbd4a8d22b510a11 100644 (file)
@@ -3,6 +3,13 @@
 lttng.i: lttng.i.in
        $(SED) "s/LTTNG_VERSION_STR/LTTng $(PACKAGE_VERSION)/g" < $(srcdir)/lttng.i.in >lttng.i
 
+# Some versions of SWIG (like 3.0.12) generate code where a parameter called
+# `swig_this` shadows a global of the same name.  Later versions (like 4.0.1)
+# have renamed this global to `Swig_This_global`.
+#
+# Disable -Wshadow for that file.
+AM_CFLAGS += -Wno-shadow
+
 AM_CPPFLAGS += $(PYTHON_INCLUDE)
 
 EXTRA_DIST = lttng.i.in
This page took 0.034586 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.