Docs: document trigger condition and action ownership in 2.13+
authorJérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Mon, 1 Mar 2021 20:40:48 +0000 (15:40 -0500)
committerJérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Thu, 1 Apr 2021 03:36:17 +0000 (23:36 -0400)
Signed-off-by: Jérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Change-Id: I8a52f166565efc87c6073713ce0f6569ba6d3661

include/lttng/trigger/trigger.h

index de4e93d70705bbb9787eb4e2a2e3faa54d152f18..3b1cedda1fb4709457537ded9df978e206d6d3ca 100644 (file)
@@ -49,8 +49,11 @@ enum lttng_trigger_firing_policy {
  * in the emission of a notification to clients listening through
  * notification channels.
  *
- * The caller retains the ownership of both the condition and action
- * and both must be kept alive for the lifetime of the trigger object.
+ * Prior to 2.13, the caller had to retain the ownership of both the condition
+ * and action. Both objects had to be kept alive for the lifetime of the trigger
+ * object. This is no longer the case as the condition and action objects are
+ * internally reference counted. It is safe to destroy a condition and an action
+ * after using them to create a trigger. However, they should no longer be used.
  *
  * If the action is a notification action with capture descriptors,
  * the condition must be an event rule condition.
This page took 0.046139 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.