Tests: Add high throughput with bandwidth limits test
authorChristian Babeux <christian.babeux@efficios.com>
Tue, 25 Sep 2012 16:06:38 +0000 (12:06 -0400)
committerDavid Goulet <dgoulet@efficios.com>
Tue, 25 Sep 2012 18:25:08 +0000 (14:25 -0400)
commit17fe049061ade479aef95a72de00385ba3e2ff5b
treeeb63283e856861ab0a1c79864f06d35214a17723
parentc7d620a2a00e1da14a0d06752b9055d9de6017b5
Tests: Add high throughput with bandwidth limits test

This test is used to stress the new streaming feature with high
throughput in a bandwidth limited use case.

The bandwidth limitation is done via the tc (traffic control) kernel
utility. Root permissions are needed to set bandwidth limits.  Limits
are set on the loopback interface (lo).

The test cycle through bandwidth limits from 3200kbits to 50kbits.
There are currently two known limitations/issues:

- The tests fails when the lttng stop commands is issued right after the
  traced applications are done executing.

- Setting a bandwidth limit on the control port of the relayd will
  trigger a timeout in the sessiond.

Signed-off-by: Christian Babeux <christian.babeux@efficios.com>
Signed-off-by: David Goulet <dgoulet@efficios.com>
tests/tools/streaming/high_throughput_limits [new file with mode: 0755]
This page took 0.033738 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.