Print the git version used to build from a distribution tarball
authorMichael Jeanson <mjeanson@efficios.com>
Fri, 27 Apr 2018 21:27:29 +0000 (17:27 -0400)
committerJérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Tue, 1 May 2018 19:35:07 +0000 (15:35 -0400)
commit337d64f0c475bd9617f2fb86417071b65cae8330
tree85308bb58ed2b833c8363724e28b175286e669c6
parent640ea853af808413970d0acec93d0eb6419fcb51
Print the git version used to build from a distribution tarball

The git version is omitted when building from a distribution
tarball. This will cause 'lttng version' and 'lttng --version'
to print the state of the git tree which produced the tarball.

git describe is used to produce the description of the tree's
state, along with the "dirty" state (whether or not local
changes were present in the tree).

Note that the 'git version' will not be printed when the
distribution tarball was produced at a release tag (a tag
starting with v[0-9]).

This patch simplifies the generation of the version.h file by
generating a file that is merely included by version.h.

It also ensures that version.tmpl is no longer installed on the
system by the install target.

Signed-off-by: Michael Jeanson <mjeanson@efficios.com>
Signed-off-by: Jérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
.gitignore
configure.ac
include/Makefile.am
include/version.h [new file with mode: 0644]
include/version.h.tmpl [deleted file]
This page took 0.03335 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.