Fix: configure: support Autoconf 2.70
authorJérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Mon, 11 Jan 2021 21:49:22 +0000 (16:49 -0500)
committerMathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Wed, 13 Jan 2021 15:14:27 +0000 (10:14 -0500)
commitb72f6acbd36aeb32c9f5345082a8d0bdd779a9aa
treed32c5bb793f73e497824adfe9f2f528889568ff9
parente4ed2fa0b64d29cb1864d7eeab7779fd738d4fdf
Fix: configure: support Autoconf 2.70

The newly-released autoconf 2.70 introduces a number of breaking
changes [1] and is being rolled-out by some distros.

Amongst those changes, the AC_PROG_CC_STDC macro is marked as obsolete
and was merged into AC_PROG_CC, which we already use. On 2.70, this
results in a warning which we handle as an error.

A version check is added to invoke the AC_PROG_CC_STDC macro only when
running a pre-2.70 version of autoconf, fixing the issue.

Also, the AX_PTHREAD macro makes use of the $as_echo built-in shell
variable which no longer exists in 2.70. A patch was submitted to the
GNU Autoconf archive in March, but there have been no signs of life
given since then [2].

As such, our local copy is updated to the latest version and the patch
(which looks fairly straight-forward / safe) is applied. This should
minimize changes once we go back to an "official" version of the macro.

[1] https://lwn.net/Articles/839395/
[2] https://savannah.gnu.org/patch/?9906

Signed-off-by: Jérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Change-Id: Id57ad87e63c2d398e3d8b81129f9b867b878e01f
configure.ac
m4/ax_pthread.m4
This page took 0.033293 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.